Thomas Lovejoy, Carlos Joly and the Brazilian Society for the Progress of Science win the 2012 Muriqui Prize

Agência FAPESP – North American environmentalist Thomas Lovejoy, researcher Carlos Joly and the Brazilian Society for the Progress of Science (SBPC) are the winners of the 2012 Muriqui Prize.

The award ceremony was held on June 16 at the Rio de Janeiro State Government Pavilion in the Athletes’ Park during the seminar “Biosphere Reserves and RIO+20”.

Established in 1993 by the National Council for the Atlantic Rainforest Biosphere Reserve (CN-RBMA), the prize aims to promote actions that contribute to the conservation of biodiversity, that support the dissemination of traditional and scientific knowledge or that promote sustainable development in the Atlantic Rainforest.

The prize is a bronze statue in the shape of a southern muriqui monkey (Brachyteles arachnoides) and a diploma. The muriqui is the symbol of the Atlantic Rainforest Biosphere Reserve, recognized in 1991 by the Man and Biosphere Programme, which is part of the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organization (UNESCO).

Only two prizes are given each year, one to an individual and the other to a public or private entity, either Brazilian or international. This year’s edition was an exception, as three prizes were awarded.

Thomas Lovejoy Eugene III is a biologist, chief biodiversity consultant for the president of the World Bank, senior counselor of the president of the United Nations Foundation and president of the Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment. He is professor at the School of Environmental Science and Policy at George Mason University and is president of the Yale Institute for Biospheric Studies in the United States.

It was Lovejoy who introduced the term “biological diversity” to the scientific community. He has worked in the Brazilian Amazon since 1965. He directed the World Wildlife Fund’s conservation program and was assistant secretary of Environmental and External Affairs for the Smithsonian Institution.

Carlos Alfredo Joly is a professor at the Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Unicamp), coordinator of the BIOTA-FAPESP Program and director of the Department of Thematic Policies and Programs in the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation’s Secretariat of Research and Development Policies and Programs.

Dr. Joly coordinated the planning, structuring and implementation of BIOTA-FAPESP, which began in 1999 with the expectation that it would last for ten years and which was extended to 20 years in 2009, making it the first Brazilian scientific program to last more ten years, and which involves more than 1,000 scientists in São Paulo.

The researcher has been a full professor of Vegetation Ecology at Unicamp since 1998 and has been a member of the Brazilian Academy of Science (ABC) since 2008. In 1999, Dr. Joly won the Henry Ford Environmental Conservation Award in the Initiative of the Year Category and won again in 2009 in the Science and Formation of Human Resources category.

In 2002, he received a commendation from the Brazilian National Order of Scientific Merit. In 2005, he won the Brazil-Germany Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s von Martius Environmental Award.

The 2012 Muriqui Prize for legal entities will be awarded to the Brazilian Society for the Progress of Science (SBPC) in recognition of the institution’s role in discussions on the Brazilian Forest Code and its constant warnings on the consequences of the legislation on the nation’s forests. The award will be received by SBPC President Helena Nader.

The institution is a civil entity created to defend scientific and technological advancement and educational and cultural development in Brazil. Since its establishment in 1948, it has played an important role in the growth and improvement of the national science and technology system and the exposure of the general population to science in Brazil.

Headquartered in São Paulo, the SBPC has regional secretariats in other states. There are some 98 scientific societies associated with the SBPC, and it has more than 6,000 active members.

 Source and Photo: FAPESP, July 4th, 2012
You also follow Labex korea by Twitter and Facebook

2 responses to “Thomas Lovejoy, Carlos Joly and the Brazilian Society for the Progress of Science win the 2012 Muriqui Prize

  1. really informative blog thanks for sharing and keep posting.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s